Pride Offers Chances for Reconciliation


I had a great time a Pride last weekend riding on the Unitarian Universalist float. My friend Katie and I also visited with  and gathered petition signatures from folks from a lot of other groups before the parade stepoff, including the Chicago Coalition of Welcoming ChurchesMCCUnity in Chicago, and others.

But there was one religious group I’m sorry I missed. They didn’t march in the parade, but they stood on the side of the streets wearing T-shirts and carrying signs that said, “I’m sorry.” They were Christians from a group called The Marin Foundation expressing regret for their sins against LGBT people. A blogger named Nathan was one of those wearing the “I’m sorry” T-shirts and he tells a moving story about the hug featured in the picture above. I really suggest you follow the link and read it.

This story gives me hope for a future of greater understanding and respect for LGBT people from Christians and other people of faith. Please share any pictures or stories you have from Pride.

Leave a Reply

